RSS

Daily Archives: May 18, 2011

Professional Experience Presentation

Professional Experience Presentation 

The rationale

Why did i choose the placements i did ?

When starting this module i was adamant that i wanted to do a more traditional placement but then i did the short film module and from that i co founded the blue ridge film group which is a small production company set up by like minded and strong students.From this i realized that a lot of my future will be free lance and self managed projects ,so that is what i through myself into.

From the start i wanted to do as much as possible to get the most out of this opertunity ,and to gain the most amount as possible from each experience.This module gave me an oppurtunity to try my hand at being freelance and also work with others from many backgrounds ,cultures and to see whether i could cope.as well as enhance my skills as a freelance media practitioner ,mainly on the technical side.

Practicalities 

I did many roles through out this module

  • Camera and sound operator for an informative engineering dvd for rolls Royce.
  • Camera ,photographer and director of interview and filming team for CUEAFS
  • Camera and sound operator for a carers choice DVDs for Coventry city council.
  • Head of media and filming for a starting company Crew Members Direct which consisted of directing ,producing ,camera work and research.
  • Photographer for the Golf Pros at Moor Hall Golf Club
  • Sound Operater on a fIlmed sketch by the Blue Ridge Film Group and directed by Steven Ringrose
As you can see i took part in many projects but mainly on the technical side and partially on the directory and organizational part because i wanted to push myself. Directing/ organizing others as well as producing comes naturally to me and i have done it in other projects ,due to previous work in other careers such as cheffing i am able to run and organize a team without difficulty but my weakness has always been the technical area of filming. This is why i pt myself forward to film and operate as much as possible so i could work with others already in the trade and learn from them and create valuable contacts.
    What have i learnt and taken away from these roles ?
      The Rolls Royce DVDs taught me a lot ,not about engines as i am simply useless in engineering comprehending but in many filming aspects. I learnt that organization is key in any job as we were tested in recording and cataloging the shots taken  for the editor,something i haven’t done in other filming shoots. I have learned to be more organised and methodical about my work ,you cant always do what you whant and stay with in your mind set you must conform and listen to your clients need and put your creativity and pride to one side. I also pushed my technical skills as i learnt a new camera “the jvc 700” and also on lighting which was was very difficult on this job but with help and hinking we over came the challenge as a team.
        The CUEAFS filming. I didn’t learn a lot technically from this but i did learn skills that will prove to be beneficial. I learnt to be a lot more assertive ,i went there as a camera man but became the head camera and director of the team ,i could see that others weren’t able to perform the task so i stepped in to help but finally actually taking over the role. Also with the amount of press that was there i had to push myself not to be intimidated and not hesitate. Iwill take this onto other projects because if you don’t try ,u will not get ,and that could make the difference between a good shot and a great shot and the changing of my reputation and career.
          The photography for the golfers ,the sound operating for Blue Ridge Film Group i will talk about as one as both were technical. They taught me more technical aspects and skills that will prove valuable to me in the future as my future lies and depends on the understanding of these elements. They pushed me of the understanding of these techniques and taught me ,which was the target and purpose for taking on these roles.
            Working for Crew Members Direct taught me that comunication is key as were not ble to perform a number of tasks due to commitment issues and misunderstandings ,which hinderd filming. In some of these tasks i failed the director of the company due to work management and time commitments i wasn’t able to make days that he could. I have learnt that you can only take so much on and organizing film crews ,equipment and shots is one thing but organizing yourself is just as important and if anything ,the most important thing as it has a knock on effect to your work.
              The professional Experience journey 
              This module has given me an insite to what my future might hold and the informed the career plan that i will be taking. I plan to work freelance which is very self motivated and challenging and this has taught me to have confidence in myself and my skills.It has informed and altered my career plan that i am now more adiment that i don’t want a 9-5 working job at one place i want the option to move and choose my work and that i don’t want to work for one company.It will push me more creatively and technically to do more work with different people in different fields. It has changed my career aspects as i am now set on what it is i want to do where as before i was in two minds to find one permanent job and not make it more difficult on myself ,now i go with the moto the more you put in to something the more you get out.
                Next Steps ….

                From this module and from speaking to all the contacts i have made i will be putting my Cv ,show reel and work out in to the field and going for more filming jobs that i would have previously hesitated to apply for. I will work on my self organization and continue working on my skills but instead of working on them in a class room i will now work on them out in the field and get help from those already out there. I believe that i am ready to hit the job market and that i am ready to go in to the field ,but there is always more to learnt ,i will use the next year to take less paid work and enrich my knowledge in the field but also take as much as i can from my next year of university.
                  Conclusion 

                  I have spoke in depth about what i have learnt and some things that went wrong and what i will be now doing after this module ,so what do i put in the conclusion. I am better for this experience ,my failures ,triumphs and repetition of existing skills have all equally helped me and have learnt countless skills that i will never forget and this module has put m foot in the door of the industry that awaits me after university.I have learnt that  I need to be constantly looking for more opportunities to gain as much experience as I can and that you never stop learning ,but what you do have , believe in and trust as doubt can get in the way and stop your potential.

                   

                  Updated CV

                  my cv 2

                   

                  List Of Professional Contacts

                  One of the most important aspects of our 201mc module was to create contacts out in the industry and to start to create professional3 relationships that will not only enhance or skills whilst at university but help us when we fully enter the industry.

                  Spencer Murphy :

                  A university lecturer that is the head of the “Coventry University East Asian Film Society” and was the Series producer and interviewer for the interviews that i directed and filmed in italy at the “Udine Far East Festival”. This contact i thought might be considered a cop out ,a lazy excuse for a contact as he is a lecturer at the university but i look and think that it is possibly one of the most fruit full contacts that Ive made. I have never worked with him before but i have found that he has many contacts in the industry and a wealth of knowledge and also is happy to pass my name on for future work. From this contact i have learnt a lot but also secured more work for in the future as i will be filming with him next year.

                  Adam Torrel:

                  Adam Torel is a founder of Third Window Films, an Asian movie distribution company that aims to follow quality, as opposed to market interests. I found him to be a fascinating man and is willing to discuss his aspirations and opinions which is rare when people find out your a student. I met him when filming the ” East Winds Film Festival” and will be seeing him at future events that i will be filming which will be help full because he can introduce me to others making my interviewing and filming a lot easier.

                  Spencer James :

                  Another part time lecturer but also a film maker and practitioner of media. He owns his own media company but also works freelance. A good person to know for work and possible contracts in the future as he will need crew,but also on the rolls Royce work we are doing his in put is highly respected as he has done multiple films for them. He is also giving us advice on setting up our business so an important contact to have at this early stage of myself and production company’s career.

                  Mandy Sanghera – Coventry Council Carers

                  Mandy was the director of the carers DVD i was camera/sound operator. She is involved with most of the DVD’s that get made for the council and is also a writer with a stage production in theaters now. Mandy is a good contact to have as she has many contacts in the local media, and somebody i may end up working for in the future.

                  Jason Kurmoo

                  Owner and director of the company “CrewMembersDirect” Which is an online job agency for media practitioners ,an agency to display yourself and find work a swell as constructive criticism from those that have hired you back on the site.I will be working with Jason  in the future as he will have access to workers which i will need as i am in the process of starting my own production company. Also we are in talks about making joint ventures by incorporating aspects of both of our company’s together. Possible business partner n the future but if not an important contact to have in recruiting.

                  Steven Dawkins :

                  A lecturer at Coventry university but also a Director and film maker both corporate and none corporate. Again this was someone that i had been taught by but never worked with on a professional level. Steve has many contacts in the industry both creative and corporate. We worked with him on the Rolls Royce project and will be working on the same account in future. Also his contacts will be important to us and also the wealth of knowledge is an endless resource that i hope to learn from.

                  Fredrick Ambroisine 

                  Fred is a one man media machine. He is a Freelancer and travels the world following east Asian cinema where it is at his height.He conducts interviews with high ranking names in Asian cinema in front and behind the camera from directors to actors.He does this as either as part of a commission or to store and sell on to movie company’s or the news.An important contact to know when traveling the world and looking into filming film festivals and particularly asian cinema as he is respected in the field. I will see him next year at the Udine festival but also possibly others that i visit this year.

                  Nicola Cassanello

                  A freelance photographer who was working at the Udine film festival, who has offered his help and advice when ever needed.It is good to have him in my phone book as he is an expert in DSLR cameras and it will be good to call upon his knowledge and experience when needed on future shoots. You can never have to many contacts and having someone in every chosen specialty in the media will increase my knowledge and resources which will enhance my work. A good contact to have when taking stills in future.

                   

                  Tags: